Image d'accueil

OMEGA Scientific Awards

Discover the laureates

The OMEGA Scientific Award is intended to encourage scientific research by young researchers in the following fields:

This award is reserved for candidates holding a Diploma or Master of Science degree (MSc) from a recognized academic institution of higher learning in Switzerland or abroad. Candidates are eligible during the first eight years following the acquisition of their degree.

The individual research work must have been undertaken in Switzerland in a university, polytechnical institution or research laboratory, and must provide a significant and innovative contribution to the aforementioned disciplines pertaining to microelectronics, optoelectronics, sensors and other devices, materials and micromechanics. The award may in particular be attributed on the basis of exceptional scientific results obtained during a doctoral thesis. A jury appointed by the Board of Directors of the Foundation will evaluate the scientific achievements. The selected research work must already have been published.

The award amounts of CHF 5000.- ,as well as an OMEGA watch. The award ceremony takes place during an event determined by the Board of the Foundation.

Application Procedure:
The application deadline for the OMEGA Scientific Award is October 31st.
Applications must be presented in an electronic version to the secretariat of the Board of the Foundation in order to be considered for the coming award. The research work must be written and annotated in English, French or German.
They must come with a cover letter, as well as a list of accepted publications. A letter of recommendation is welcome, but remains optional.

Laureates of the OMEGA Scientific Awards

Year Laureate University Thesis supervisor Title of the thesis Candidates
2023 Joan Teixidor EPFL Prof. Philippe Renaud A neural probe to sample brain fluid in nanoliter volumes for quantitative molecular studies 16
2022 Aleksandrs Leitis EPFL Prof. Hatice Altug Metasurfaces for label-free biosensing mid-infrared optics and active photonic devices 10
2021 Clarissa Convertino EPFL Prof. Adrian Mihai Ionescu High-performance III-V MOSFETs and Tunnel-FETs Integrated on Silicon 11
2020 Marcell Kiss EPFL Prof. Niels Quack Advanced Diamond Microfabrication for Microoptics and Photonics 10
2019 Sylvain Karlen UniNE Prof. Gaetano Mileti Fabrication and characterization of MEMS alkali vapor cells used in chip-scale atomic clocks and other atomic devices 9
2018 Naveen Shamsudhin ETHZ Prof. BJ. Nelson Micro and nanorobotic probes for single cell mechanics 5
2017 Christian Peters ETHZ Prof C. Hierold Biodegradable Superparamagnetic Polymer Composites: From Material Identification to Device Application 13
2016 Csaba Azau EPFL Prof. Jacques Jacot Prof. Peter Ryser Méthodes de production par ultrasons, de la théorie à l'application industrielle 4
2015 Andrea Franco EPFL Prof. Christophe Ballif Dr Nicolas Wyrsch Monolithic Particle Detectors based on HydrogenatedAmorphous Silicon 16
2014 Florent Cosandier EPFL Prof. Reymond Clavel Dr M. Bouri Conception d'Axes Motorisés Rectilignes d'Ultra-Haute Précision 12
2013 Joanna Bitterli-Przybylska EPFL Prof. Ph. Renaud Dr A. Meister AFM Based Single Cell Microinjection: Technological Developments, Biological Experiments and BiophysicalAnalysis of Probe Indentation 12
2012 Thomas Kiefer EPFL Prof. J. Brugger Hydrogen Sensors based on Hydrogen Palladium Microand Nanostructures 9
2011 Tristan Sfez EPFL Prof. H.-P. Herzig Investigation of Surface Electromagnetic Waves with Multi-Heterodyne Scanning Near-Field Optical Microscopy 12
2010 Renato Krpoun EPFL Prof. H. Shea Micromachined Electrospray Thrusters for Spacecraft Propulsion 6
2009 Yves Pétremand UniNE Prof. N. de Rooij Study and Fabrication of a Micro Scanner for Optical Applications 6
2008 Patrick Helmer EPFL Prof. R. Clavel Conception systématique de structures cinématiques orthogonales pour la microrobotique 10
2007 Klaus Heinrich Ehrmann EPFL Dr P.-A. Besse Microfabricated NMR-Probes for the Analysis of Living Cells 10
2006 Martin Henrik Baier EPFL Prof. E. Kapon Correlated Photon Emission from Semiconductor Pyramidal Quantum Dot 9
2005 Markus Graf ETHZ Prof. H. Baltes Microhotplate-Based Chemical Sensor Systems in CMOS Technology 4
2004 Alexis Rochas EPFL Prof. R. Popovic Single Photon Avalanche Diodes in CMOS Technology 9
2003 Alain-Serge Porret EPFL Prof. E. Vittoz Design of a Low-Power and Low-Voltage UHF Transceiver Integrated in a CMOS Process 3
2002 Robert Lange Uni Singen Prof. R. Schwarte 3D Time-of-Flight Distance Measurement with Custom Solid-State Image Sensors in CMOS/CCD Technology 4
2001 Yves Bellouard EPFL Prof. R. Clavel Conception de dispositifs en alliage à mémoire de forme en microtechnique 9
2000 Catherine Marselli UniNE Prof. F. Pellandini Data Processing of a Navigation Microsystem 6
1999 Michael Schneider ETHZ Prof. H. Baltes CMOS Magnetotransistor and Fluxgate Vector Sensors 3
1998 Bernd Maisenhölder Uni Konstanz Prof. K. Dransfeld A monolithically integrated optical Mach-Zehnder interferometer for refractometric sensing applications 5
1997 Wolfgang H.F. Andreasch EPFL Prof. R. Clavel Konzeption und Entwicklung einer Technologie zur automatisierten Oberflächenmontage optischer Elemente (Optical SMD) 5
1996 Markus Rossi UniNE Dr K. E. Kunz Phase-matched Optical Fresnel Elements 5
1995 Manfred Heuberger, Lukas Howald UniFR Prof. L. Schlapbach, Prof. H.J. Günterodt Über lokale Eigenschaften sowie die Adhäsion von Metall-Polymer Systemen / Raster-Kraftmikroskopie an Silizium und lonenkristallen im Ultrahochvakuum 7
See the laureates from previous years